Special Prize: The Man Booker Best of Beryl

Dame Beryl (1932 - 2010)

Dame Beryl, who missed out on the prestigious Man Booker Prize for which she was shortlisted five times, will finally get recognized in 2011for her contribution to literature. One of her five novels would be receiving a special prize, The Man Booker Best of Beryl. The winner will be decided through voting by the readers.
“Dame Beryl was a very gracious non-winner and no Man Booker dinner was complete without her. She may have been the eternal Booker Bridesmaid but, with this special prize created in her honour, we are delighted to be able finally to crown her a Booker Bride by letting the public choose what they believe to be the best of her books”, said Ion Trewin, the prize’s literary director. (Courtesy: The Press Association)

The list of books that were shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize earlier are as follows:
• The Dressmaker (1973)
• The Bottle Factory Outing (1974)
• An Awfully Big Adventure (1990)
• Every Man for Himself (1996)
• Master Georgie (1988)

No comments:

Post a Comment